The Simpsons (Season 8) DVD

One of the best TV shows of the modern era, or for that matter any era, The Simpsons rekindled the popularity of the prime time animation genre. A blockbuster series filled with a diverse cast of characters from the fictional town Springfield, the series aided the upstart FOX network in its rise from second-rate TV channel to the elite status of a major network like CBS, NBC, or ABC. This overwhelming success opened the door for a number of similar animated series such as Futurama (1999), The Family Guy (1999), and King Of The Hill (1997). With arguably of the best collection of writing talent in the TV industry, The Simpsons has managed to maintain consistency as one of the funniest shows on television – quite an accomplishment given the length of its run.

The Simpsons (Season 8) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere “Treehouse of Horror VII,” one of the best of the annual Simpson Halloween episodes. The three stories covered include the discovery of Bart’s evil twin in the attic, Lisa’s creation of an alternative universe, and an alien invasion propagated by Bob Dole and Bill Clinton look-alikes. Other notable episodes from Season 8 include “A Milhouse Divided” in which Milhouse’s parents decide to get a divorce, prompting Homer and Marge to take sides in the separation, and “The Itchy & Scratchy & Poochie Show” in which Homer becomes the voiceover for the highly anticipated arrival of Poochie, a new character on the Itchy & Scratchy Show. But things take a turn for the worst when reviews of Poochie are unanimously derogatory.

Below is a list of episodes included on The Simpsons (Season 8) DVD:

Episode 154 (Treehouse of Horror VII) Air Date: 10-27-1996
Episode 155 (You Only Move Twice) Air Date: 11-03-1996
Episode 156 (The Homer They Fall) Air Date: 11-10-1996
Episode 157 (Burns Baby Burns) Air Date: 11-17-1996
Episode 158 (Bart After Dark) Air Date: 11-24-1996
Episode 159 (A Milhouse Divided) Air Date: 12-01-1996
Episode 160 (Lisa’s Date with Density) Air Date: 12-15-1996
Episode 161 (Hurricane Neddy) Air Date: 12-29-1996
Episode 162 (The Mysterious Voyage of Our Homer) Air Date: 01-05-1997
Episode 163 (The Springfield Files) Air Date: 01-12-1997
Episode 164 (The Twisted World of Marge Simpson) Air Date: 01-19-1997
Episode 165 (Fountain of Madness) Air Date: 02-02-1997
Episode 166 (Simpsoncalifragilisticexpiala(Annoyed Grunt)cious) Air Date: 02-07-1997
Episode 167 (The Itchy & Scratchy & Poochie Show) Air Date: 02-09-1997
Episode 168 (Homer’s Phobia) Air Date: 02-16-1997
Episode 169 (Brother from Another Series) Air Date: 02-23-1997
Episode 170 (My Sister, My Sitter) Air Date: 03-02-1997
Episode 171 (Homer vs. The 18th Amendment) Air Date: 03-16-1997
Episode 172 (Grade School Confidential) Air Date: 04-06-1997
Episode 173 (The Canine Mutiny) Air Date: 04-13-1997
Episode 174 (The Old Man and the Lisa) Air Date: 04-20-1997
Episode 175 (In Marge We Trust) Air Date: 04-27-1997
Episode 176 (Homer’s Enemy) Air Date: 05-04-1997
Episode 177 (Simpson Spin-Off Showcase) Air Date: 05-11-1997
Episode 178 (The Secret War of Lisa Simpson) Air Date: 05-18-1997

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.